Deception on Sable Hill by Shelley Gray

This book was pretty good… I enjoyed it a bit. I’ve never really been into mysteries before, but this one was decent.

As I literally just mentioned, I’m a bit biased in my opinion of this book, because I’m not really fond of mysteries. But I didn’t mind it. I just don’t know if I’ll ever read it again. I haven’t read the first book in the series, Secrets of Sloane House, yet so I can’t base any of my opinions of that book onto this one.

The storyline itself is pretty good, but there’s not really enough mystery and intrigue to actually make it a mystery story… it’s like it accidentally made into a mystery, like it wasn’t supposed to be.

I do like how there was a brief summary of what happened to our main character, Eloisa. From reviews I’ve read, she was introduced in the first book, though her story is dug into more in this one. I definitely sympathized with her. It would have been a lot harder back then to go through what she did.

I hated the constant mention of social obstacles and blah blah blah. I understand back then it would have been a bit more difficult to marry, having to sort of stay within your social circle, but it was just constant. Of course Eloisa and Sean loved each other, but it was extremely, ok well maybe not extremely, but it was pretty annoying.

All annoyances aside, their relationship was pretty adorable.

All in all, I would give this book about 3 out of 5 stars… Maybe if I had read the first book I might have been able to get to know her character.

This book was super slow… very slow.